The Lurker Lounge Forums
Please, tell me what these things mean- - Printable Version

+- The Lurker Lounge Forums (https://www.lurkerlounge.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Lurker Games (https://www.lurkerlounge.com/forums/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Diablo II (https://www.lurkerlounge.com/forums/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Please, tell me what these things mean- (/thread-9337.html)

Please, tell me what these things mean- - Zok - 02-08-2004

I don't even own Diablo 2 yet (I am getting it tomorrow)- and on Blizzard.com, it said a 4X CD-ROM drive is required to play the game- what is a 4X CD-ROM drive?

And also what does this mean - "Up to 8 Players over TCP/IP Network or Battle.net® (Requires low-latency Internet connection with support for 32-bit applications) "?

Thanks in advance, and I am sorry if this has been asked before, but I'm new to mmorpgs (never played one that involved a game disk). I need to know these things before I go waist my money on something I can't play.

EDIT: Also, does this game have a lot of lag when playing on a dial-up connection, or is it playable, with just a little lag every now and then?

Please, tell me what these things mean- - Kartoffelsalat - 02-08-2004

A 4X CD-ROM drive is a four speed CD-ROM drive. Pretty much any CD-ROM drive you see nowadays is 4X or higher.

The "Up to 8 Players over TCP/IP Network or Battle.net® (Requires low-latency Internet connection with support for 32-bit applications) " means you can have eight players in a game. Battle.net is Blizzard's free online service that lets players from all over the world play together. TCP/IP network games are games played where the game is hosted on you or your friend's computer, instead of Blizzard's servers.

Many people play on Dial-up. I used to, and never had any real problems with lag. If you're playing hardcore, don't play if your connection seems laggy.