Running Diablo on harddrive?
Hi, I've been a fan of Diablo back then ever since it came out... I used to play on B.net all the time daily.. and I remember that ONE day I found a legit obsidian ring of the zodiac!. It wasn't perfect, like it was +17 all, and the resistances were lower. I've lost that though. ANYWAYs.. fast foward to 4 years later.. I plan on playing diablo again.

By now, my D1 CD is very very, scratched up (it's pretty old, what do you expect :D). I started playing again last weekend, with a new warrior, and I'm planning on buying hellfire this time.

Anyways, to get to the point.. During certain instances my diablo will freeze up ingame - such instances include equipping weapons, playing movies, dialogues, etc. Obviously it's the CD.

I want to play the game off my hard drive for now, but also want to be able to play on b.net (i've tried a 1.09 no cd, it modifies the storm.dll rendering that useless).

Has anyone figured out a way for this?

Thank you!
Other than borrowing a friend's cd or bying a enw one, maybe trying to get the scratched cd fixed, I have no other (legal) advice I can give :lol:
"It burns because its burning!"
Perfectly legal, and not terribly difficult to do.

First off, you'll need to make a 1:1 exact copy of the disc to your Hard Drive. CloneCD, Nero, EasyCD Creator, DiscJuggler, and many other programs are capable of doing this, and I know that at the very least, CloneCD has a demo available.

Once you have the 1:1 copy, head to http://www.daemon-tools.com/ and download Daemon Tools. This program will allow you to "mount" the image of the CD on a virtual drive.

Any questions, feel free to ask...I know I'm not the only one here who uses this method.
Cloning a CD is all good, except for the fact that it's a system hog to emulate a CD-drive.