Iron Reflexes: The case for why it's too good.
This is my first attempt at an in depth analysis for Path of Exile. I'm posting this here, as a way to gather my thoughts. I may, or may not be posting this to the official forums afterwards.

Not too long ago, GGG put together a one week race, that combined the mods of Domination, and Nemesis. I wont lie, I didn't play this event, because the idea absolutely terrified me.

I've been undone by two shrines spawning WAY too close together, and some crazy rare getting the benefits of both shrines. Adding a Nemesis mod in there? Well, that just seems like a recipe for this guy chucking his laptop at the wall.

But, I was really interested to see how it turned out, and I was really excited to look over the observations that GGG put together based on the race.

One thing stuck out like a sore thumb, and seemed to catch GGG off guard.

Iron Reflexes was the single most taken keystone passive for the event, and it was by a very large margin.

Well, lets define Iron Reflexes.

Iron Reflexes is a keystone passive just east of the Duelist Starting area. It removes your ability to evade, and in turn converts your evasion rating to armor. At the time of writing this post, at 1:1 exchange.

This is a common passive to take for a lot of builds. It isn't surprising to me, that in a one week race, where gear would be far more scarce than other races, people would flock to it.

If you are familiar with PoE, you are familiar with the flavors of Gear Available. You have

Armor
Evasion
Energy Shield.

And then you have the hybrids:

Armor / Evasion
Evasion / Energy Shield
Energy Shield / Armor

Most will agree that Armor ends up being a weak stat against deadly things. Deadly things being: Bosses.

Because the damage is either

Physical, and massive, nullifying armor values
Elemental, and bypassing armor.

Unless... Well, unless you have so much armor that you can get crazy.

And that's where Iron Reflexes comes in to the equation.