Phragmites aka Phrag aka European Common Reed
Do you have phragmites in your neck of the woods? What local efforts are being undertaken to do something about it?

I have been fighting this particular battle for quite a few years now. It all started with my concern over another wetland invasive plant - the beautiful but extremely invasive Purple Loostrife. I would wander the fen in Pike Bay, removing all the specimens I could find, in an attempt to keep this fragile wetland pristine. Luckily, on that front, there was a control mechanism available that has minimized the damage by that particular plant.

One fine day, about ten years ago, whilst enjoying a brew on the deck of a cottage neighbour, she pointed out into the fen from her place and asked if I knew that 'that new plant' was. On investigation, this newcomer was identified as Phragmites. A lot of research ensued.

This stuff is hard to kill, to put it mildly. And it is even more invasive than Purple Loosetrife. That original patch is gone; it took about 6 years of steady culling to make it go away. And I was, in hindsight, very lucky to be able to do that, as I was able to use Round-Up on it for most of those years, because the water in Lake Huron was so low. But new patches kept showing up.

Last year, the Ontario Federation of Agriculture declared Phragmites to be Canada's most invasive plant. And that's saying something, because there are a lot of other nasty ones out there too.

This plant has filled the ditches of all the major freeways in Ontario. It has choked out wetlands all over the province. There are local efforts ongoing in many places in Ontario. Many municipalities have started to undertake and/or pay for removal/mitigation practices. I have some hope about this.