Sad state of the gaming industry...
Jarulf,Dec 12 2004, 10:03 AM Wrote:But itis not really a copy protection. It is an access protection. You can copy the CD with no problem at all regardless of if there is emulators or not on your computer. It is accessing the game that it protects and hence it should not fall under copy protection.

Technically this may be true, but AFAIK in Germany this case does fall under the new regulation. Or, that is my understanding of the formulation in the new German 'Urheberrecht': 'wirksame technische Maßnahme zum Schutz eines urheberrechtlich geschützten Werkes' ('efficient technical measures for the protection of a copyrighted product'). Nothing in the German law seems to indicate that there is any difference between a copy protection and an access protection. I am not a lawyer, though. Also, it may very well be that the final decision about which cases are affected by the new law and which are not has to be made by the courts.

Moldran,Dec 15 2004, 01:13 PM Wrote:Technically this may be true, but AFAIK in Germany this case does fall under the new regulation. Or, that is my understanding of the formulation in the new German 'Urheberrecht': 'wirksame technische Maßnahme zum Schutz eines urheberrechtlich geschützten Werkes' ('efficient technical measures for the protection of a copyrighted product'). Nothing in the German law seems to indicate that there is any difference between a copy protection and an access protection. I am not a lawyer, though. Also, it may very well be that the final decision about which cases are affected by the new law and which are not has to be made by the courts.
[right][snapback]62879[/snapback][/right]