I started playing on the realms...
Well I couldn't keep myself from starting online play before 1.1 and it takes some time to get used to the lag so I figured some training time wouldn't be that bad. Wrong.
I play on Europe and took my Sorceress MsTripledeath to lvl16 in a couple of hours (wee, no more players 8 :lol: ). Folks were nice enough (at first, read on), except 90% seem to use maphack and 80% are completely uninterested in playing through the game at a normal pace. Or the other way around...

I started a game of my own called "Act one no maphack" and no one joined during the 90 minutes I played...hmm...

At level 13 I joined another game (needed better exp) and soon things started to become interesting. I was playing with two other guys of similar level in the sewers when a lvl 1 Barb joined us and immediately filled the screen with "gimme items gimme gimme gimme gimme etc." He was ignored but continued to fill the screen.
As someone who has played SP for the last two years it was quite an annoying experience that a complete stranger has the ability to ruin a game with no effort. I read about it but it really has to be experienced to understand it. When he finally left I was already slightly irritated and the next guy was even worse.

lvl7x Amazon: noobs (first time I saw it on Bnet) who want duriel
us: no thx
Amazon: i open tp and kill
us: no thx
Amazon: *insert obscenities that would make a 90 year old pirate blush*
"this stupid amazon" has expressed hostility...

I left the game.
Looks like I'm a pansy/sissy/weenie/crybaby but it just sucks. And bites.

Make me believe again
account *NuurAbSaal
Realm Europe
Softcore

Sad Greetings
Nuur

P.S.: Well after reading this through I figured out that this may not be all that new/exciting for my fellow lurkers. So I apologize for any yawns I caused but I felt a little down and writing this all up helped some.