Hoping a Lurker has a solution.
Here at work, I'm building a network. It's small, with just 9 comps and a single server so far, but it is a monumental step up from when I got here (3 computers, no server, no infrastructure, no security).

I have 7 of the comps loaded and ready to go, and the server is up, running, and I'm learning on the fly (I'm a web designer, not a server guy).

The other 2 comps have XP Home on them. The problem is, they will NOT, no matter what I do, install windows 7. They are toward the lower end of the specs, but they both will make it, and the cost to upgrade the boxes is too much for what they are used for. One is a UPS box that only runs UPS world ship (it doesn't have a single other thing on it), and the other is just a box that management uses to check their email in a "break room" atmosphere. It doesn't get much use, and at this point, Taking the money I have left in my budget to replace them with new machines means that I'm out of cash for the rest of the year.

So, I'm looking for 2 copies of Windows XP Professional. NO VISTA, with keys, that I can use to upgrade them and get them on the network. If someone knows where I can find them (trying to not ebay them) I would be eternally grateful to you!
nobody ever slaughtered an entire school with a smart phone and a twitter account – they have, however, toppled governments. - Jim Wright
Problem with going to external sources is whether the keys will be valid or not. Have you looked at Ubuntu?
If you tried to install Win7 and failed, does that mean you have Win7 keys? We used some "downgraded" Win7 keys here at work to upgrade some Win2000 machines to WinXP. I don't think you can buy raw XP licenses right now. You'd have to find someone with a retail version of XP that is selling it or buy a Win7 license and downgrade it.

I don't know the process our IT group went through to downgrade the Win7 licenses. Maybe give MS a call.