I really hope some little girl ends up with it.
So, for those of you who don't personally know me, I have been growing my hair for a little over 2 years so that I can donate it to Locks of Love. I had always heard that I had great thick healthy beautiful hair, and how every female friend wanted it.

After hearing this for a while, I thought about a close friend I had in high school who suffered from several diseases (Bone Marrow Cancer, and another). As she became sicker, she started to shun people because the drug cocktail that she was on to treat her condition had left her bald. That all changed when Locks of Love donated a wig to her. It made her more positive, and I believe that it's one of the things that allowed us to have a little more time with her.

After thinking about how it changed her life, I decided that I would grow my hair and donate it. After all this time, I finally decided to donate it today. Here's some pics.

BEFORE:
[Image: before.jpg]

BEFORE (BACK):
[Image: before-back.jpg]

DURING THE CUT:
[Image: mid%20cut.jpg]

THE DONATED HAIR: (it's a mirror, there are only 4 sections not 8)
[Image: cut%20hair.jpg]

AFTER THE CUT:
[Image: after.jpg]

If feels good to have grown it, knowing that one day, hopefully, someone will get as much use out of my hair as my friend did when she received a wig. I don't regret the decision to cut it, even though I will miss my hair more than people would believe.
nobody ever slaughtered an entire school with a smart phone and a twitter account – they have, however, toppled governments. - Jim Wright
That's cool. The thread title had me a little bit nervous. :ph34r:

One of my coworkers apparently did this last year. She's letting it grow out again to donate again. Looks like it will take a while.

Of the sadness I've experienced in life, watching loved ones battle cancer may top the list.
Quote:The thread title had me a little bit nervous. :ph34r:

Me too:(