Mage build advice sought
I leveled up as a frost build the whole way. However, I also have a level 48 fire mage who has leveled purely as fire. That being said, I have some experience with both approaches.

The pros for a Frost build are:
1. control and survivability via kiting
2. AoE grinding with improved blizzard
3. practice kiting so you are a master by 70
4. Fun crits with Shatter and Ice Shards

The pros for a fire build are:
1. you do more damage, faster and therefore kill stuff faster.
2. you don't kite (much) so you kill stuff faster.
3. Your fire spells typically gain ranks before your frost spells do, so you kill stuff faster.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend leveling as an arcane mage during the early phase of your career because most of the really good arcane talents are deep in the tree and won't give you much benefit at lower levels.

However, you can still kill things fairly quickly with a frost build. I've included links to a fire and frost build.

Defacto Raiding Fire Build

Deep Frost Build This is the build I currently use. However, this doesn't show you which talents to pick early on, so let me outline the order I would place talents for a deep frost build.

5/5 Improved Frostbolt
2/2 Improved Frostnova
3/3 Permafrost
3/3 Piercing Ice
2/5 Ice Shards
5/5 Shatter
5/5 Ice Shards (note that we waited to finish out ice shards till we'd maxed out shatter)
3/3 Frost Channeling
3/3 Frostbite or Improved blizzard if you want to AoE
(don't get both initially as frostbite makes aoeing with blizzard more complicated till
you know what you're doing)
1/1 Ice Block
1/1 Ice Barrier
5/5 Arctic Winds
1/1 Cold Snap
3/3 Improved Blizzard (or frostbite if you got blizzard early)
1/1 Water Elemental
5/5 Empowered Frostbolt

This should get you to level 60 and you can fill in the rest to taste on your way to 70