Sunstrider Isle to the Ghostlands
[Image: neriadbc.jpg]

THE ADVENTURES OF NERIAD: Sunstrider Isle

"First I'm a powerful Night Elf priestess," said Neriad. "Then I wake up one day as a lowly undead priestess and work my way back to being even more powerful than before. Now I'm a blood elf novice! What is going on?!?"

Woohoo! I finally got in the beta! Booo! I can't copy my level 60 priestess over to the beta. Woohoo! I can still check out the new starting zones!

In a way, I'm glad that I can't copy undead Neriad over to the beta, because it gave me the perfect excuse to scout out the new Blood Elf starting zone. It starts off much like any other starting zone in the game, but as I leveled up and especially when I crossed into the Ghostlands, I found that the Blood Elf starting zones blows every pre-expansion starting zone in the game away in terms of content, storyline, and riches.

[Image: neriadbc1_1.jpg]

Upon first appearing on Sunstrider Isle, the lowest level Blood Elf zone, Neriad found herself on a grassy slope near large towers, magical floating platforms, and large trees.

[Image: neriadbc1_2.jpg]

Dominating the view is the enormous Sunspire, a tower that supposedly overlooks the ruined Sunwell.

[Image: neriadbc1_3.jpg]

Like all starting areas, the first quest NPC waits for you in plain sight so that those new to the game know where to go first. In this case, the first quest NPC is Magistrix Erona who asks players to kill mana wyrms, who were once guardians of the nearby Burning Crystals. The Scourge's invasion of Quel'Thalas has made the mana wyrms go "errant" and out of the control of the blood elves. From a story line perspective, this is a nice touch. Right away, you're asked to deal directly with one of the consequences of the Scourge's invasion of Blood Elf lands.

[Image: neriadbc1_4.jpg]