Post Reply 
Unable to connect to Battle.net
07-15-2006, 07:26 PM
Post: #1
Unable to connect to Battle.net
I have tried to connect to battle.net for the first time in about 2 months (lost my cd) and it gives me this message:

"
Unable to connect to battle.net. You may
be trying to connect to an invalid battle.net
server. If you are using a modem, you may need to
manualy connect to the Internet before
connecting to battle.net. For more
information go to:
http://www.battle.net/support/errormessages/
"

I have seen this message before, and i usualy corrected it by turning off my firewalls (McAfee, and Windows) but in this case i get the same message every time? I have also restarted/reinstalled numerous times. Has anyone a cure for this delema?
-Ace360
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2006, 08:33 PM
Post: #2
Unable to connect to Battle.net
If it's a fresh Diablo install, you will need to patch the game manually.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2006, 09:24 PM
Post: #3
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:If it's a fresh Diablo install, you will need to patch the game manually.

It is patched to v1.09
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2006, 09:32 PM
Post: #4
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:It is patched to v1.09

What server are you connecting to? What does Wireshark show?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2006, 09:49 PM
Post: #5
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:Kp' date='Jul 15 2006, 09:32 PM' post='113810']
What server are you connecting to? What does Wireshark show?

Wireshark?, What is that, i never used a program/application called wireshark to play diablo before?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-16-2006, 12:59 AM
Post: #6
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Wireshark

"What contemptible scoundrel stole the cork from my lunch?"

-W.C. Fields
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-16-2006, 09:59 PM
Post: #7
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:Wireshark


i have dial up so here comes a "long" download...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-16-2006, 11:52 PM
Post: #8
Unable to connect to Battle.net
I have Wireshark but i have no idea how to use it in conjunction with diablo.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2006, 03:05 AM
Post: #9
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:I have Wireshark but i have no idea how to use it in conjunction with diablo.

Historically, Ethereal did not work with dial-up adapters. Unless that has been fixed, you may need to get DSL or cable before you can use Wireshark.:)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2006, 04:57 AM
Post: #10
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Have you tried changing the gateway you're trying to connect to?

Also, are you connecting directly to the internet or do you have a network or router of some kind?

Why can't we all just get along

--Pete
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2006, 05:37 AM
Post: #11
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Have you tried connecting to Battle.net on other games; is the problem only with Diablo, or is something between you and Battle.net? I'd say go grab some shareware if you don't own anymore, but we (especially me) all know how fun that is on dial-up.

Quote:Also, are you connecting directly to the internet or do you have a network or router of some kind?

A dial-up network, eh? There's a hell I hope I never have to experience.

--me
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2006, 07:46 AM
Post: #12
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:A dial-up network, eh? There's a hell I hope I never have to experience.

I guess my point was that he used to be able to get on and now he can't, so I was wondering what had changed in the mean time.

Why can't we all just get along

--Pete
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2006, 12:55 AM (This post was last modified: 07-18-2006 02:10 AM by Ace360.)
Post: #13
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Yes i have dial up (AOL) and yes it does not work well with ANYTHING that has to do with internet, lol. I tried all my other availible gateways within diablo and could not get past "Connecting to fastest server" on any of them. And no one really awnsered what wireshark exactly does for diablo. I couldnt understand the website too well, not to blunt about it.

EDIT

Another question, how do you set up a "new" or unlisted gateway?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2006, 02:35 AM
Post: #14
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:Yes i have dial up (AOL) and yes it does not work well with ANYTHING that has to do with internet, lol. I tried all my other availible gateways within diablo and could not get past "Connecting to fastest server" on any of them. And no one really awnsered what wireshark exactly does for diablo. I couldnt understand the website too well, not to blunt about it.

EDIT

Another question, how do you set up a "new" or unlisted gateway?

Switch off AOL. That'll do so much good for you right there...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2006, 03:33 AM
Post: #15
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:Another question, how do you set up a "new" or unlisted gateway?

By either editing the Windows registry by hand (HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Battle.net\Configuration), or using a gateway configuration tool.

"What contemptible scoundrel stole the cork from my lunch?"

-W.C. Fields
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2006, 03:45 AM
Post: #16
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:Kp' date='Jul 18 2006, 02:35 AM' post='113967']
Switch off AOL. That'll do so much good for you right there...


AOL is my only means of connecting to the internet tho (I WANT BITWISE)

Does it have to do with me having windows xp, cause i do know that it runs differently on 98 and below?

Does it have to do with me having windows xp, cause i do know that it runs differently on 98 and below? (Something about the packets recieving/sending differently i think)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2006, 04:29 AM
Post: #17
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Quote:AOL is my only means of connecting to the internet tho (I WANT BITWISE)

Does it have to do with me having windows xp, cause i do know that it runs differently on 98 and below?

Does it have to do with me having windows xp, cause i do know that it runs differently on 98 and below? (Something about the packets recieving/sending differently i think)

I run Diablo on XP.

I would suspect that your problem is that you connect through AOL's network, and I've heard that they do all kinds of funky things to the connection before you get to the actual internet. I don't know, though, because I've never had AOL.

Why can't we all just get along

--Pete
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-23-2006, 09:26 AM
Post: #18
Unable to connect to Battle.net
I've unfortunatly had to deel with AOL dial-up and diablo before... not fun.
Well my only knowledge about it now, is that AOL has a system where only data through your net browser will be transfered, so no outside program will work. This is a recent addition so the virus protection is at max (I don't know if it can be dissabled, check some net settings). Hope that helps
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2006, 11:32 PM
Post: #19
Unable to connect to Battle.net
For any out their who are still reading this, i could not get past the "aol block" thing... Its ben a long time too... *sigh* i'l have to resign to SP and AOEII (as usual).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2006, 06:03 AM (This post was last modified: 10-16-2006 06:47 AM by Jim.)
Post: #20
Unable to connect to Battle.net
Hi,

It's 11pm PDT...I was able to join a game on the West & Europe server.

Is your ISP AOL & what speed is your connection ?

________________
Have a Great Quest,
Jim...aka King Jim

He can do more for Others, Who has done most with Himself.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: