God help me, I've done it.
Pending approval, I am now a registered business owner in the state of Massachusetts in the trade of Retail Sales and Services, Custom Computer Systems Design (although I do a LOT more than just that). Man, that feels good. Now I just need to actually START.

I need to get some business cards (and flyers) printed up, not to mention get some office supplies to help me organize the legal paperwork. And, once I get my real certificate in the mail, along with my Form ST-1 (Sales & Use Tax Registration, which I think I need to still fill out), I can file Form ST-4 (Sales Tax Resale Certificate), and THEN I can contact my wholesale distributors and set up accounts to purchase goods for resale. :)

Of course, my OTHER services will include consultation, networking, and tech support, but custom-built solutions will be a big part of my business (or so I hope). Eventually, of course, I'll want to advertise in the phone book, set up a website, yadda yadda, but for right now I'd be happy with just getting some cards printed up and putting up a couple flyers locally. That would attract enough business to put some change in my pocket to further advance my business. It also helps that I work at a local automotive repair shop that's been established for 30 years (I'm the parts manager, and I sit in the front office, so I get to see all the customers), so word of mouth has already snagged me a couple jobs. :) If I get one customer a month I'll be happy for right now. Not that I have time for much more. ;)