How kind is "too kind"?
Now that exams are done, I'm gleefully wasting passing time by catching up on gaming. Early November, I started playing FF9, and got to disc 4 by the end of Thanksgiving Break. After a three-week hiatus, I wanted to play again.

I live on a hall in what's considered specialty housing. We have our own social room for our use. It's a converted dorm room with a TV, couch, etc., that we managed to finagle out of Res Life after the freshman complained last year that our hall hogged the first floor social room. We all hang out in there, and my hallmates have a fondness for video games. I started keeping my PS2 in there after my hallmates promised that if they used it, they would put all the parts back into the cabinet when they were done.

You can see where this is headed.

I've searched both the social room and my room, and I can't find my copy of FF9 anywhere. This is the straw that broke the camel's back, after

--people kept leaving the PS2 out in the middle of the social room floor, when no one was in there, the door was wide open, and all the lights were on--just begging for someone to walk by and grab it. I told people not to do it, and it still kept happening.
--People kept leaving the game discs everywhere, even when I asked my hallmates to case the games when finished.
--My memory card and cords have made various disappearing/reappearing acts.
--And a few of my games have gone walking off for a few days, only to mysteriously return after a weekend or a break.

So I declared that I would keep my PS2 in my room for now on. My hallmates are unhappy. I'm this close to saying "well, tough s**t, you should have respected my property." Also, my room isn't in tip-top condition and there's a chance that the game is buried somewhere. :rolleyes: However, this isn't the first time someone has borrowed a game and returned it only when I raised a stink about it.

So I add to the morality discussion. How kind is too kind? Please share your stories. ^_^