Hollywood and silliness
Took the kids to see "The Incredibles" on Sunday, and had a few well deserved silly laughs. Worth a look when it hits the dollar theatres, or DVD, unless you have kids over the age of 7, then I recommend seeing it, maybe save a buck or two at a matinee showing. Echoes of Iron Giant, though any number of adult inside jokes are lost on kids. Nice send up of the 50's superheroes genre with a bit of new age psychobabble thrown in.

No Capes! :lol:

Was on yet another business trip, saw "Kill Bill" and "The Whole Nine Yards." The latter was a bit of silliness showcasing one of the Friends rubes, though it had a few good comedic moments. Bruce Willis never broke a sweat.

Kill Bill, which I have at long last now seen, was most enjoyable, even if we never get answered early in the film WHY Bill and his friends felt the need to waste those folks at the Texas wedding.

The nod to anime was noted, though I am a complete anime novice. Loved the soundtrack fusion of Japanese and Western ala Sergio Leone music. I will get the soundtrack. Enjoyed the send up of the Bruce Lee genre of one martial arts expert against crowds of obvios novices. Enjoyed the atomized blood spray effect as yet another "look" for high ketchup count films. Thought Lucy Liu looked better with the haircut at the end. (Sorry, still have much ill feeling in my heart for anyone related to the Ally McBeal whine fest . . .)

Why the late review? Easy, that film will never be seen in my house. Mrs Occhi is NOT a fan of Quentin Tarantino, at all. It has gotten to the point that I will not even raise his name and the word movies as a topic of discussion. True Romance, Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, Kill Bill. Hmmm, how is that last the Fourth QT film? I count 5. Or was one of the former NOT a QT film? Or is the Producer Director subtlety lost on me?

Anyway, the only way I can see QT films is while on a trip, or if Mrs Occhi is out of town and I get the DVD as a rental.