Quick question
Treat me like an 8-year old. Can you explain what a T-bill is? I have no to little knowledge of the US economic system, and one of my students is going to prepare a presentation about the credit crisis. I tried googling "t-bills" but was unable to find an answer (I could understand) to my question.
Ask me about Norwegian humour Smile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTs9SE2sDTw
It is short for Treasury Bill, and is similar to a government bond. Essentially one who invests in t-bills is making a short term loan to the United States government. Relatively low risk, low yield, easy to get out of investment as far as I know.
Quote:It is short for Treasury Bill, and is similar to a government bond. Essentially one who invests in t-bills is making a short term loan to the United States government. Relatively low risk, low yield, easy to get out of investment as far as I know.

In other words, purchasing T-bills is like buying stocks in the US government as you would in any other company?
Quote:Angel' date='May 15 2009, 02:57 AM' post='167217']
Can you explain what a T-bill is?
Wiki Article
"Nothing unreal exists."
-- Kiri-kin-tha
Not quite. You don't become a part owner of the US government. If the worth of the government goes up, your worth does not go up with it.

It's a kind of loan, like a bond. You buy a "100 dollar" t-bill for, say, 98 dollars, and at the end of the year, you get to sell it back to the government for the full hundred. The higher the interest rate, the less you get to buy your "100 dollar" t-bill for at the beginning.

US treasury bills are generally considered the safest possible investments, on the idea that the US is a powerful, stable country that is highly unlikely to back out of its financial commitments. There is also very little speculation about their worth: it says right on the bill what you're going to get for it, so there's very little market in guessing their value.

-Jester
Quote:It's a kind of loan, like a bond.