A quick one, while they are away
Hi all:

Apparently, someone gooned up the "web sense" thing and they have to re load it. That means that for a while, I can post here, maybe an hour or two.

Here is the deal: can't talk about work. Interesting, but for another time. My memoirs perhaps.

Qatar: hot and, blast it, HUMID. It's not just a dry heat, it's a hot and wet heat at 120, per yesterday. I thank Westinghouse for the invention of AC.

Doha is an odd city. Folks here only began driving since about the 1970's, ish, so it is a bit like Naples, Italy, only crazier. I am now a certified driving instructor, which means my days as a flight instructor -- teaching someone how to do something darned dangerous, and, trusting them, are being again put to use.

Doha is also where someone with a lot of dough was obviously approached by a series of architects who had breat ideas. Result is a puzzling though not entirely displeasing combination of buildings down on the Corniche, which is the main boulevard that wraps around the bay in the capital city.

The Emir's crib is only about 7 times as big as the White House, but then, he's got a bunch of wives, so of course he needs more room, to deconflict spousal fires. (Darn, there is work sneaking in again!) Have not yet been to the gold souks, they were off limits for a while due to some terror threat or something, I forget which, but I will be getting Mrs Occhi some earrings and such before I go home. She don't read this forum, safe to say that. :)

Am heading out to a Turkish restaurant tonight, been to a couple of Lebanese restaurants (3 x days out in town in 4 months, work rest of the time) and I love what those folks do with lamb. And, for that matter, an avocado. A schwarma beats a burrito any day, I might add.