New MFer
I just started playing Ladder. My first character is going to be a Magic Finding Sorc, so I can get back on my feet.

I was originally planning on rebuilding my old MFer, a Fire/Ice sorc. The skills went/will go like this:

20 Fireball
20 Meteor
20 Frozen Orb
Rest in fire mastery, utilities, and prerequisites.

I got into quite a row with somebody in my game yesterday. He said that the only viable Sorc's are mono-tree. I said that a sorc that cannot kill a fourth of the monsters in hell is hardly viable.

He got me thinking however. Since I plan to be doing Meph runs exclusively, do you think it is worth my while to start a new sorc for my MFer? If I were to do this, I would go mono cold. My skill tree would probably go something like this:

20 Frozen Orb
20 Ice Bolt
20 Cold Mastery
20 Energy Shield

The reason for the 20 ES is that I will be playing totally untwinked, as I have NO items whatsoever (again, first Ladder character) and since I will most likely have negative resists in Nightmare AND hell, I couldn't care less about the bug. If you can think of something better for me to max, I'm open to suggestions.

The main question: should I rebuild a mono cold sorc for my Mephing (I'm scared to because going through Hell would be difficult if I was soloing it), or continue with my Fire/Ice sorc?
HI!

I found that the best mephi-runners are cold sorceresses (if you manage to keep away from the CI blood lords, that is). My cold sorc uses a fully sinergyzed ORB, with maxed teleport (a 1-mana teleport means you can find meph easily), but my friend made a better one.