Hardcore Frost Novaress
As you may have seen, in my reports about Elemenara, I'm now seriously considering doing a Hardcore Frost Novaress if she can beat Diablo without suffering any deaths (since I've always considered Duriel and Diablo to be the toughest hurdles in the game),
Given that I'm still quite new to Hardcore (my highest acheivement being surviving to Act III so far) I thought I'd ask people's opinions. I probably won't be going for a tri-elemental build this time, so any opinions on skills/combos will be welcome (equipment advice too, although I'll certainly be going with the advice I received while playing Elemenara) Any help/suggestions much appreciated.
While catching up on Elemenara and noting your comment that you might consider doing an Enchantress at some point, I realized that I've never read/heard of an Enchantress with a high level Frost Nova-- and I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't be an effective combination.

I shamelessly abandoned Zyryalana (and all my other SC characters) for HC Ladder play in mid-March (shortly after my last post in Elemenara's thread). Since then, I've lost two Assassins and an Enchantress, but their rebuilds are doing well. Most of my attention has been focused upon WeakWanda, a base-Strength Shadow/Blade Fury Assassin who wields only wands. From playing her, I've learned some equipment lessons which may be old news to most, but I'll share them anyway:

A Bone Shield of Deflecting, frequently offered by both Drognan and Ormus in Normal, gives either an Assassin or a Sorceress max block with reasonable Dex levels, and can be equipped at level 14.

A Rhyme Bone, Grim, or Troll Nest Shield (depending on Str) may be the most effective shield a Sorc can equip.