Higher Education in The Netherlands
Hi all,

My girlfriend and I were chatting today about what foreign countries were on our "list" of places we'd like to live. We eventually settled upon The Netherlands as a place that was interesting to us - for a variety of reasons.

I'm in college (for computer science) right now in the US; so, I'd be looking into transferring to a school over there to finish up my degree. I've only just begun to research the possibilities. I spent a couple of hours surfing around on google and managed to find a few things, but I think it would be a better use of my time to conduct some focused research.

So, based on the fact that I have very little knowledge about higher education in the Netherlands (and Europe in general), I'm hoping that someone here could point me in the right direction.

This will probably end up being nothing more than a mental exercise, but the topic has grabbed a hold of my curiosity (sp?).

Personal experiences would be greatly appreciated as would any information. :)

Thanks,

Smithy
I'm a Canadian who has visited Holland a few times. Both my parents were born there and I have a lot of relatives living there.

I don't know jack about the schooling system, but I can say that Holland is a nice place to visit. I did have a hard time when one guy thought I was American, but as soon as I proved I was Canadian it was smooth sailing.
I'll make sure to hide my "ignorant American" card then. :)

On a side note, I always feel wierd saying Holland and not The Netherlands.... don't know why.

Smithy
smithy,Mar 29 2004, 01:22 AM Wrote:I'll make sure to hide my "ignorant American" card then.  :)
Naw, I don't think you have to go that far. Dutch people are really quite friendly towards outsiders. I had a blast while I was there, and most (90%?) of the people assumed I was American because of my accent. They were still more than willing to buy me beer and play darts with me.
Hail Smithy,