Why are Sony Wegas so damned heavy?
My wife and I bought a new 32" Sony Wega at a Boxing Day sale, and I was surprised at how heavy that sucker is. It took both of us to carry it into our living room.

I had a look at the manual, and it states the weight at 165 lbs. The 36" Wega is 212 lbs.

No other 32" TV I have ever lifted even comes close to matching that weight, and I work in a store that sells TVs. What the hell does Sony pack into the case that makes it so heavy? Is the case lined with lead or something?
Sony uses Wegas as a front for their diamond-smuggling businesses. In a few days, somebody will sneak into your house and steal the diamonds out of the set. Or, you could smash it open right now and make off with millions. :)
Kartoffelsalat
USEast SCL
*kevin_osu
Inside every Sony Wega is a Chevy Vega.

They had to get rid of those suckers somehow...

-rcv-
DeeBye,Dec 26 2003, 08:12 PM Wrote:...  What the hell does Sony pack into the case that makes it so heavy?  Is the case lined with lead or something?
Four words: Homer Simpson's "Radiation King"
Political Correctness is the idea that you can foster tolerance in a diverse world through the intolerance of anything that strays from a clinical standard.
Quote:What the hell does Sony pack into the case that makes it so heavy?

Guilt.

After all, you've just spent enough money on a TV to feed three villages for a year, or have given over 1000 American homeless a warm meal and place to sleep on Christmas Day.

Enjoy.
Garnered Wisdom --

If it has more than four legs, kill it immediately.
Never hesitate to put another bullet into the skull of the movie's main villain; it'll save time on the denouement.
Eight hours per day of children's TV programming can reduce a grown man to tears -- PM me for details.