Okay, I've changed my mind
I used to think that System Shock 2 was the scariest game ever made. It is indeed scary, but today I started playing Silent Hill 2: Director's Cut for PC and I've changed my mind. SH2 is scaring the crap out of me.

Man I love this game. It has more atmosphere than any other game I've ever played. For a 5 year old game, the graphics are fantastic. Creeping through blood-stained dark hallways with a flashlight looks and feels amazing.

This game is freaking me out so much that I often find myself relieved when closed doors turn out to be locked and unopenable. Sometimes I just don't want to know what's on the other side. If a door opens and a movie sequence starts, it's time to run for cover!

I almost puked when I found Eddie (the fat guy) heaving in the toilet. THE SOUND MY GOD THE SOUND! I could almost smell it.

Pyramid Head has to be the greatest game villian ever conceived. He's a zombie monster with a giant red metal pyramid. On his head! With a giant screw you KNIFE! I don't know what he was doing with those mannequin zombies but it gave me a severe WTF moment :huh:

I played SH1 years ago and it was pretty good. Is the rest of the series as good as SH2? If so, I might have to scour some more bargain bins.

Here is James checking out a weird face cube puzzle. I haven't figured it out yet, but I WILL SOON! I love the chainsaw.
[Image: sh2pc2006011722460377ot.jpg]

The lighting effects while using the flashlight are pretty cool. OH GOD I DON'T WANT TO GO UP THAT LADDER!
[Image: sh2pc2006011722470668lv.jpg]

OH SHI-
[Image: 1066359823004ts.jpg]

edit: PLEASE DON'T SPOIL THIS GAME FOR ME!
Silent Hill 3 is even better. Silent Hill 4 isn't supposed to be quite as good.

Definately one of the best survival-horror series.
"AND THEN THE PALADIN TOOK MY EYES!"
Forever oppressed by the GOLs.
Grom Hellscream: [Orcish] kek