Linux
I am writing a paper on Linux vs. Windows OSs in the networking environment, and I would like to hear some of your opinions! Of the network techs/admins, which do you prefer and why? Please be specific! :) Also for the home users that have experience with linux OSs, which do you prefer and why? Thanks!
WWBBD?
I use Linux at home and at work. But I have no experience administering Windows at work, so I can't make any comparison as far as administration.

At home I have a small heterogenous network. My wife and daughters share a machine that runs Windows. My machine dual boots (although I'll spend all of my time in Linux unless I decide to actually purchase WoW, which is the reason I have been running windows).

We share the printers. I also have a linux server that I run my own mail and web services for my domain. It is linux, but not on a PC. Someone gave me an old HPUX workstation and I put debian on it (pa risc processor).

I prefer linux because I feel like I have way more control over what I have. I've customized my environment to the hiilt. I can't stand actually programming in Windows, but I don't do too much of that at home anyway so that point is mostly moot.

At work I vastly prefer Linux due to the extremely powerful shell, configurable graphical environments, and huge array of freely available programming languages and tools.

At home, things are much closer. Windows XP has proven itself to be extremely stable and well-behaved (I do not allow the use of IE on my network), and clearly gets the edge with gaming, even for games that run on linux (for example, the Doom 3 linux client is pretty good, but uses OSS for sound). And WoW doesn't run on linux (if someone gets it to work with cedega I might by a short subscription just for that reason).

edit: I said homogenous, I meant heterogenous <_<
I currently run a linux server for printing and file-sharing on my home network.